With World Cups on the horizon, Eoin Morgan will have to manage his workload

stumpsandbails
2 min readJun 17, 2022

--

Eoin Morgan, England’s limited-overs captain, has stated that he will control his workload in order to give himself the greatest opportunity of assisting the team to win at the World Cup.

Eion Morgan
Image Source: Stumpsandbails.com

The 35-year-old, who has been plagued by injuries and has recently been out of form, aims to lead England to a successful T20 World Cup campaign in October and November but believes it is too early to think about defending their 50-overs championship in 2023.
He added of the ODI World Cup, “that’s a long way away.”

“First and foremost, I must go to the T20 game.” I’ll take things as they come, focusing on my contribution and my body.

“At the present, I still believe I have something to offer and that I can help the team win the World Cup.” For me, that’s a critical goal.”

Morgan assumed command of England’s limited-overs teams in December 2014, taking them to the Twenty20 World Cup final two years later before assisting them in winning the 50-overs competition in 2019.

In January, he experienced a low-grade quadriceps injury after playing back-to-back games in a T20 series against the West Indies, but he expects to play all three ODIs against the Netherlands this week.

“Some of our international games are back-to-back,” Morgan explained. “I did that in the West Indies when I played Saturday, Sunday, and then hurt myself before the game on Wednesday.”

“It was due to playing two international games in a row.” As a result, it’s improbable that I’ll feature in every England match this summer.”

--

--

stumpsandbails

Stumpsandbails is a cricketing website that gives the best cricket match predictions, live cricket score, fantasy cricket tips & more. Know more!