Virat Kohli Will Not Be The RCB Captain Again: Daniel Vettori

2 min readMar 7, 2022

Many interesting subjects are surfacing as the IPL 2022 waves hit the community. As the much-anticipated mega event of the Indian T20 League (IPL) making its way to launch the 15th season, spectators’ excitement to witness the drama has intensified.

Virat Kohli will never lead RCB again: Daniel Vettori

Meanwhile, Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) retained its key players, notably former captain Virat Kohli, ‘The Big Show’ Glenn Maxwell, and speedy Mohammed Siraj, ahead to the Mega Auctions.

Recently, the former RCB captain Virat Kohli and New Zealand bowling icon Daniel Vettori has gone on record as saying that the batting superstar will never captain the team anymore. Furthermore clarifying the situation, the experienced left-arm spinner has stated that if a skipper wishes to move forward, he should be freed to do so.

Who’s RCB Next Captain?

“No [Virat Kohli will not be the RCB captain again]. I think it is as simple as that. I don’t think that ever works, let alone in franchise cricket or international cricket. Once the captain is moved on, the right thing is for him to move on”, said Vettori.

“I think they will look at Kohli, Maxwell, and Du Plessis as the leadership group and even Dinesh Karthik. I think Faf will step in for Maxwell. But if they win the first three games, maybe they will continue on with him”, he added.

During Virat Kohli’s leadership, the Bengaluru-based team made the playoffs three times, in 2015, 2020, and 2021, and finished as runners-up in the 2016 edition after dropping the decider against Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH). The Delhi batsman was awarded the Orange Cap for amassing 973 runs, comprising 4 centuries, in one season of the event, which marks the best individual run total in a single edition of the event till now.

Meanwhile, the RCB will look to the seasoned combination of Dinesh Karthik and Faf du Plessis to supplant the batting legend. The three-time champions will open their IPL 2022 campaign against Punjab Kings on March 27 at DY Patil Stadium.

RCB Full Squad For IPL 2022:

Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell, Mohammed Siraj, Faf du Plessis, Harshal Patel, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dinesh Karthik, Josh Hazlewood, Shahbaz Ahmed, Anuj Rawat, Akash Deep, Mahipal Lomror, Sherfane Rutherford, Finn Allen, Jason Behrendorff, Chama Milind, Aneeshwar Gautam, Suyash Prabhudessai, Karn Sharma, David Willey, Siddharth Kaul, Luvnith Sisodia




Stumpsandbails is a cricketing website that gives the best cricket match predictions, live cricket score, fantasy cricket tips & more. Know more!