The Ultimate Australian Cricket League: KFC Big Bash League

2 min readNov 29, 2022

The Big Bash League is an Australian professional club Twenty20 cricket league that was founded in 2011 by Cricket Australia. It is popularly known as the KFC Big Bash League due to sponsorship reasons. The Big Bash League, which has eight city-based franchises as opposed to the six state teams that had previously competed.

Throughout Australia, BBL games take place in the winter months of December, January, and February.

Big Bash League All Teams

* Sydney Sixers
* Perth Scorchers
* Sydney Thunders
* Adelaide Strikers
* Melbourne Renegades
* Melbourne Stars
* Hobart Hurricanes
* Brisbane Heat

All the Champions of the Big Bash League

Six of the eight participating teams have won the championship at least once. The Perth Scorchers are the most successful side in the brief history of the league, having won the championship four times, including two years in a row.

The Sydney Sixers have won the championship three times, including twice in a row. The Brisbane Heat, Sydney Thunder, Melbourne Renegades, and Adelaide Strikers are the other four championship-winning teams.

Big Vision in Mind: Expending the Big Bash League

It had been suggested that the competition will be expanded to include more regional locations where there was no international cricket. Initially, the expansion was slated to go into effect in 2012.

Teams from Newcastle, Canberra, Geelong, and the Gold Coast were among those suggested. It was also suggested that a New Zealand-based team, based in Auckland or Christchurch, might be formed, but this is unlikely to occur. The expansion proposal was shelved, primarily due to the lack of adequate cricket hosting facilities in the proposed cities.

Big Bash League Format

The BBL has had a consistent format since its establishment in 2011, with the exception of the first season. The number of group-stage matches increased from 28 in the inaugural BBL season to 32 in the next.

Since the 2018–19 season, every team in the league now faces every other team twice during the regular season, for a total of 56 games before the championship series. A fifth team was added to the format of the final for the 2019–20 season. The addition of “The Eliminator” was the key difference between the hybrid and original versions of the Page-McIntyre final four systems in the structure.




Stumpsandbails is a cricketing website that gives the best cricket match predictions, live cricket score, fantasy cricket tips & more. Know more!