The birth of Big Bash League: New Era of Cricket

2 min readOct 9, 2022

Big Bash League is a T20 tournament held during Dec-Jan of every year

Big Bash League (BBL)

One of the most well-known leagues in the entire world is the Big Bash League. The Big Bash League has been innovative in every way, arguably just falling short of the Indian Premier League in terms of viewership and cricket’s level of play.

Similar to the IPL, the BBL draws players from all over the world, which makes the competition even more exciting to watch. Furthermore, the BBL’s playing surfaces provide something for bowlers and batters alike, making the game of cricket a joy to watch as a whole.

Who started the BBL

Cricket Australia founded the Twenty20 league in 2011, and KFC is the league’s sponsor. The BBL has had 10 seasons so far, and the 2021–22 season will be the league’s 11th season. Eight city-based clubs are participating in the competition: the Sydney Sixers, Sydney Thunder, Melbourne Renegades, Melbourne Stars, Hobart Hurricanes, Brisbane Heat, Perth Scorchers, and Adelaide Strikers.

Champions of BBL so far

Six of the eight teams have at least one BBL championship under their belts. With three titles each under their belts, Adelaide and Perth Scorchers are the BBL’s most successful teams.

The Sydney Sixers defeated the Perth Scorchers in the grand finals to claim the inaugural BBL title in 2011–12. With a history of advancing to the knockout rounds, the Scorchers and Sixers are two of the competition’s most dependable teams in BBL.

BBL’s innovations are another factor in its appeal. When it comes to innovations, the BBL has always been a step ahead, introducing the bat flip in place of the conventional coin toss or features like Power Surge, X-Factor Player, and the Bash Boost.

The fall

The viewership figures for the BBL have decreased over the past few years, though. This is explained by the fact that the majority of the competition’s top Australian athletes are absent because, during the BBL, they are typically serving abroad. The majority of the events are contested from December through February.

Big Bash League 2021–2022 Season

The Big Bash League’s 2021 season will take place from December 5 until January 28. There will be 11 locations in Australia where the competition will be played. 56 league games in total will be contested during BBL 11. Following that, the top five teams will be eligible for the Playoff rounds.




Stumpsandbails is a cricketing website that gives the best cricket match predictions, live cricket score, fantasy cricket tips & more. Know more!