Suryakumar Yadav’s secret mantra for success

stumpsandbails
2 min readSep 18, 2022

--

When India plays its six home matches leading up to the ICC T20 World Cup 2022, Suryakumar Yadav will be crucial to their success. One of the few Indian batters that would hit the ball straightaway is SKY, as he is affectionately referred to by his followers. The Asia Cup 2022 provided a glimpse into Surya’s batting approach.

Suryakumar Yadav’s secret mantra for success
Image Source: BCCI

The day before the game, the 32-year-old doesn’t even practice. He spends some quiet time with his wife, and this is his mantra. In a recent interview with the Times of India, Surya was quoted “For the last four years, I have followed a routine which has worked well for me. One day before the match, I like to take the day off. I practiced only two days before match eve. On match eve, I just spend time with my wife and don’t talk about cricket at all.”

He further added saying “She has helped me to stay grounded irrespective of whether I have done well or not. She has drilled into my head that I have got to stay the same whether or not I have done well.”

Since making his debut in March of last year, India’s 31-year-old marvel Suryakumar Yadav has caused damage to the world cricket globe. Given his T20 accomplishments, even Ricky Ponting praised Suryakumar for being able to play the match with an air of unflinching confidence.

Before making his India debut, Suryakumar played domestic cricket for almost ten years. He emphasized that for a T20 batter, flexibility is essential. You need to be really adaptable right now to be able to bat at any number given the way things are going. You must adjust to the circumstances. You must comply with the situation.

When asked about his favorite position to bat, he stated that “I have loved batting in every position: 1, 3, 4, 5. I feel that №4 is a good position for me. The situation where I go into bat allows me to control the game. I enjoyed myself most when I bat between overs seven and 15. I try to be positive in that phase.”

It is hoped that Surya maintains his present level of success and helps India win the T20 World Cup as well as their upcoming series against South Africa and Australia.

--

--

stumpsandbails

Stumpsandbails is a cricketing website that gives the best cricket match predictions, live cricket score, fantasy cricket tips & more. Know more!