‘Rohit Sharma Came To My Room And Said, You Are Playing The Match’ — Yuzvendra Chahal About His IPL Debut For MI In 2013.

stumpsandbails
2 min readJun 9, 2021

--

Rohit about Yuzvendra’s Match in 2013 IPL

I made my IPL debut because of Rohit bhaiya: Chahal

However, few people are aware that the leg-spinner debuted in the T20 Championship for Mumbai Indians in 2013. Chahal’s life was changed forever when Rohit offered him the opportunity to play a match. The leg-spinner was later picked by Royal Challengers Bangalore soon after making his IPL debut, and there has been no looking back for the Haryana native, who is now one of Team India’s and RCB’s top spinners.

Chahal revealed the specifics of his tight relationship with the opening batsman, recalling how, after Rohit became the Mumbai Indians captain, he told the leg-spinner that he would be playing the next match. Chahal’s inclusion in the Playing XI was important since MI already had two world-class spinners in Harbhajan Singh and Pragyan Ojha.

Rohit Sharma took over the captaincy from Ricky Ponting: Chahal

“I have a close bond with Rohit bhaiya because we have known each other since 2011 when I first came to Mumbai Indians. I made my IPL debut because of Rohit bhaiya. I was not getting any opportunities and Rohit bhaiya took over the captaincy from Ricky Ponting in that game only.

“He came to my room and said ‘Tu match Khel Raha hai!’ (You are playing the match!). I was surprised because we already had Bhajji pa (Harbhajan Singh), Ojha bhaiya (Pragyan Ojha) and we never played 3 spinners,” — Chahal said.

Despite playing in the next match for MI, Chahal went wicketless and did not play again in the tournament. However, after entering the RCB camp, the leg-spinner had his real breakthrough season, as a good performance in the IPL led to him being called up to the Indian team.

Rohit Sharma is like my elder brother: Yuzvendra Chahal

In addition, the 30-year-old disclosed that he, Rohit Sharma, and Kuldeep Yadav are very close in the Indian camp because they still sit together and have a strong understanding. Chahal disclosed that they have a shared trusting friendship and that he considers Rohit like his older brother.

“Then when I came to the Indian team there he, me and Kuldeep Yadav, we always stayed together, always ate together. He’s like an elder brother to me. You can have fun with him while knowing that you can’t cross the line because of the respect you have for him. So, like this, our bond became strong,” Chahal concluded.

--

--

stumpsandbails

Stumpsandbails is a cricketing website that gives the best cricket match predictions, live cricket score, fantasy cricket tips & more. Know more!