Rajasthan Royals Lost History; First-ever Champions of Indian Premier League

2 min readDec 27, 2022

A professional Twenty20 cricket tournament in India called the Indian Premier League (IPL) is played every year by franchise teams representing Indian cities.

The Vivo Indian Premier League is the league’s official name because Vivo Electronics is the league’s title sponsor. As more sponsors come on board, this constantly changing.

Image Source: Twitter

The IPL is the sixth-most-watched sports league overall and the most-watched cricket league in the globe. The IPL was the first athletic event in history to have a live YouTube broadcast in 2010.

In 2014, it was estimated that the IPL brand was worth US$3.2 billion. The 2015 IPL season increased India’s GDP by 11.5% (US$182 million), according to BCCI.

First Ever Indian Premier League Champions Rajasthan Royals

The Indian Premier League’s franchise cricket side, the Rajasthan Royals (commonly referred to as RR), is based in Jaipur, Rajasthan (IPL). The team is situated at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur and was established in 2008 as one of the original eight IPL franchises.

The Royals are renowned for discovering hidden, high-potential talent as well as for their participation in a lot of scandals and controversies. Despite not being considered a title contender by the media or the public, the squad led by Shane Warne won the inaugural IPL.

Under Rahul Dravid’s captaincy, the Royals finished as runners-up in the 2013 Champions League Twenty20.

Dark Truth of Two-years

In 2015, the Lodha Committee investigation resulted in a two-year suspension on the team. When fake and improper bids were made, violating BCCI rules, Rajasthan Royals became the centre of controversy.

The BCCI was fully unaware of the squad at the time, and its sole stockholders were Fraser Castellino and Ranjit Barthakur. They reached an out-of-court settlement together. Raj Kundra, the team’s owner, was permanently barred from cricket in 2015, and Rajasthan Royals was given a two-year suspension.

The 2022 Season of the Indian Premier League of Rajasthan Royals

After doing well during the league stage and coming in second on the points table, the team lost twice in as many days to Gujarat Titans, first in Qualifier 1 and again in the championship game, finishing in second place.

With 864 runs scored in 17 innings, Jos Buttler won the MVP title and the Orange Cap, and Yuzvendra Chahal won the Purple Cap for taking the most wickets during the season.




Stumpsandbails is a cricketing website that gives the best cricket match predictions, live cricket score, fantasy cricket tips & more. Know more!