Pakistan Super League, The Rival League of Indian Premier League

2 min readDec 13, 2022


The Pakistan Cricket Board launched the league on September 9, 2015, with five teams. The league operates as a unified company, with each club being owned and governed by investors, rather than an association of separately owned teams.

Six teams representing six cities in Pakistan compete in the Pakistan Super Tournament (PSL), a professional Twenty20 cricket league, throughout the months of February and March of each year.

Image Source: Twitter

PSL Format

Double round-robin group stage matches are played by each team, and the top four teams in terms of points advance to the playoffs and final. The Pakistan Cricket Board office in Lahore serves as the league’s headquarters.

Pakistan Super League 2023

This 2023 edition will be the eighth season of the Pakistan Super League, where PCB chairman Ramiz Raja announced plans to introduce an auction to replace the draft for the 2023 version of the tournament.

PCB is likely to increase salary caps for the players and introduce a hybrid Auction/Draft model where teams will be allowed four retentions and four rounds of auctions, with the remaining 12 players picked through a draft process.

Pakistan Super League All Teams

*Peshawar Zalmi
*Karachi Kings
*Islamabad United
*Multan Sultans
*Quetta Gladiators
*Lahore Qalanders

Previous Winners of Pakistan Super League

*The PSL’s inaugural season was played exclusively in the United Arab Emirates for security concerns. Islamabad United won the inaugural title by defeating Quetta Gladiators in the championship game.

*Then Peshawar Zalmi won the PSL title in 2017, defeating Quetta Gladiators on March 5 in Lahore.

*On March 25, 2018, Islamabad United defeated Peshawar Zalmi to win the PSL title for the year.

*On March 17, 2019, in Karachi, Quetta Gladiators defeated Peshawar Zalmi to win their maiden championship.

*Karachi Kings carried the trophy home in 2020.

*On June 24, 2021, in Abu Dhabi, Multan Sultans defeated Peshawar Zalmi to win their maiden championship.

*On February 27, 2022, Lahore Qalandars defeated Multan Sultan, the defending champions, to win their maiden championship.

Revenue Generated from PSL in the Previous Editions

The PCB revealed in May 2016 that the PSL’s inaugural season had generated US$2.6 million in profits. The PSL had a 71 percent gain in earnings in the 2022 season, which was played exclusively in Pakistan. Before the season even began, each club received Rs. 900 million (US$3.9 million) in revenue.




Stumpsandbails is a cricketing website that gives the best cricket match predictions, live cricket score, fantasy cricket tips & more. Know more!