One-Time IPL Champions; Sunrisers Hyderabad (Orange Army

2 min readDec 28, 2022


The Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) is a franchise cricket team that plays in the Indian Premier League (IPL), a professional Twenty20 cricket league in India. The team is based in the city of Hyderabad, in the Indian state of Telangana.

The SRH team was founded in 2012 and has been a part of the IPL since the league’s inception in 2008. The team has had a number of successful seasons in the IPL and has made it to the playoffs on several occasions. In 2016, the SRH team won the IPL championship, defeating the Royal Challengers Bangalore in the final.

Image Source: Twitter

The SRH team is known for its strong batting line-up and solid bowling attack. Some of the team’s key players have included Indian national team captain Virat Kohli, Australian international cricketer David Warner, and Indian national team member Bhuvneshwar Kumar. The team is currently captained by Kane Williamson, a New Zealand international cricketer.

2016 IPL Champions

By a slim margin of 8 runs, Sunrisers Hyderabad defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore in the championship match. As captain, David Warner expertly crafted the team’s season-long voyage.

But in virtually all of the RCB games, the Virat Kohli-Ab de Villiers combo was the story of the season. In the 16 innings he played, Virat scored 4 hundred and 7 half-centuries! Who won the orange cap for the season should be clear to all.

2020 Campaign

The 2020 tournament’s league phase saw SRH finish in third place on the points chart. Again, it was Delhi Capitals that crushed Hyderabad’s playoff hopes. At Zayed Cricket Stadium in Abu Dhabi, SRH was defeated in Qualifier 2 by 17 runs.




Stumpsandbails is a cricketing website that gives the best cricket match predictions, live cricket score, fantasy cricket tips & more. Know more!