NZ’s Pacer Hamish Bennett Announces Retirement From All Forms Of Cricket

stumpsandbails
2 min readApr 12, 2022

--

New Zealand speedster, Hamish Bennett has been retired from all forms of the game. The right-handed swift announced on Tuesday (April 12), that he will quit after the 2022/23 campaign. Bennett, who debuted professionally in December 2008, has failed to make an impact at the elite level. In domestic circuits, therefore, he has been a powerful force, and his stats are as spectacular.

Hamish Bennett

During his professional play, he holds 499 wickets to his belt, including 9 five-wicket hauls. In his international career, the 35-year-old has taken 43 wickets in 31 outings throughout all formats. Last September, he played in a T20I series versus Bangladesh. Bennett earned his international debut in an ODI versus the same opposition in 2010. Later that year, he made his only Test appearance versus India.

I never dreamed I would have gone on to enjoy the career: Bennett

He was also chosen for the 2011 World Cup, however, he was forced to withdraw due to a lower-back ailment that necessitated surgery in 2012. Bennett has had to miss a number of crucial tournaments and series over his career due to fitness difficulties. Bennett may not have been able to make it big at the professional level, but he effectively created a reputation for himself on the domestic circuit.

He achieved 12 domestic titles in total, notably 5 Plunket Shields, 2 Ford Trophy titles, and 4 men’s Super Smash titles. As Wellington Blaze’s bowling coach, he ultimately secured a women’s Super Smash title.

“When I started out as a young kid bowling in the nets in Timaru, I never dreamed I would have gone on to enjoy the career that I’ve had,” said Bennett.

“From Old Boys Timaru Cricket Club, who got me involved in cricket at the start, Timaru Boys’ High School, South Canterbury Cricket, Canterbury Cricket, Cricket Wellington, and New Zealand Cricket, as well as all the other great clubs I’ve played for down the years, they’ve all played a role in helping me achieve my cricket dream,” he added further.

Bennett will retire a happy person because he is delighted with his career. “I’ve been so fortunate to work and play alongside so many great players, captains, and coaches and I’d like to thank every one of them for their support over the years. It’s been an honor to represent my family and my country for New Zealand and those memories and experiences will be ones that I cherish and tell stories about for the rest of my life,” he concluded.

--

--

stumpsandbails

Stumpsandbails is a cricketing website that gives the best cricket match predictions, live cricket score, fantasy cricket tips & more. Know more!