LPLT20: Lanka Premier League

2 min readDec 9, 2022

Wonderful exposure for Sri Lankan domestic Players

The third season of the Lanka Premier League (LPL), which has been eagerly anticipated, is expected to thrill spectators with entertaining cricket and competitive games. The league will start on December 6 with the opening game between Jaffna Kings and Galle Gladiators.

Originally, the dates for LPL 2022 were set for August 1 through August 21. But the LPL’s postponement owing to Sri Lanka’s economic turmoil disappointed millions of cricket fans in the subcontinent. The T20 league will be held at three different locations, and the league stage of the competition will use a double round-robin system.

Jaffna Kings, who are the tournament’s defending champions, will try to win the trophy once more under the direction of Thisara Perera. The opposition is quite strong and will provide a threat.

What Changes took place in the Lankan Premier League

From 2020, teams from Sri Lankan cities had competed in the Lanka Premier League. This is a professional Twenty20 cricket league in Sri Lanka. Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) established the league in 2018. In August 2020, Ravin Wickramaratne, SLC’s vice president, was formally named as the competition’s director.

Brand Ambassadors of Lankan Premier League 2022

For the third edition of the tournament, former West Indian veteran batsman Viv Richards, former Pakistani ace fast bowler Wasim Akram, and former Sri Lankan opener Sanath Jayasuriya were chosen as brand ambassadors. Samantha Dodanwela replaced Ravin Wickramaratne as the tournament director after the latter decided to step down for personal reasons.

Teams in Lankan Premier League

* Jaffna Stallions
* Galle Gladiators
* Dambulla Viiking
* Colombo Kings
* Kandy Tuskers

When will the 2022 Lankan Premier League start?

The tournament, however, was postponed in July 2022 because of Sri Lanka’s economic crisis with the intention of playing it later in 2022. The event was later rescheduled to be held from 6 to 23 December 2022. Additionally, the competition places a strong emphasis on fostering and advancing both domestic and foreign tourism.

Where will the 2022 Lankan Premier League take place?

The locations for the matches to be held from 6th December are R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo, Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium in Hambantota, and Pallekele International Cricket Stadium in Kandy.




Stumpsandbails is a cricketing website that gives the best cricket match predictions, live cricket score, fantasy cricket tips & more. Know more!