Korbo Lorbo Jeetbo Re: Kolkata Knight Riders

2 min readJan 9, 2023


Two-time IPL Champions Kolkata Knight Riders

The Indian Premier League franchise cricket team for Kolkata city, where the team is popularly known as Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR). Bollywood actor Shah Rukh Khan, actress Juhi Chawla, and her husband Jay Mehta are the franchise’s owners. At Eden Gardens Stadium, the Knight Riders compete.

In 2011, the team made it into the IPL playoffs for the first time. The franchise has grown immensely popular as a result of its affiliation with famous owners.

By defeating Chennai Super Kings in the championship game, they won the IPL that year. They defeated Kings XI Punjab in 2014 to replicate the feat. The Knight Riders have the longest winning streak of any Indian T20 team (14).

Home Ground of Kolkata Knight Riders

Eden Gardens serves as the Knight Riders’ home field (with the two ends of the crease called the High Court End and the Club House End). With a capacity of more than 90,000 spectators, the Cricket Association of Bengal owned India’s largest cricket stadium.

The stadium’s capacity was reduced to about 68,000 in 2011 as part of renovations to bring it up to the International Cricket Council’s specifications for the 2011 Cricket World Cup.

Kolkata Knight Riders Theme Song

Korbo, Lorbo, and Jeetbo Re are the team’s official motto, while purple and gold are their official team colours. This song symbolizes the support for Kolkata Knight Riders.

Great Rivalry of Kolkata Knight Riders

Both teams compete in large cities, with the Kolkata Knight Riders competing in Kolkata and the Mumbai Indians competing in Mumbai. With five championships, the Mumbai Indians are the most successful IPL team, but up until Mumbai’s third title, the two clubs were tied with two victories each.

Mumbai won all four of their games against Kolkata in the IPL’s first two seasons. The 2010 IPL Season was the first time Kolkata defeated Mumbai.

Legends of Indian cricket have led both teams at different points in time (Mumbai was captained by Sachin Tendulkar, and Kolkata was captained by Sourav Ganguly). Mumbai has consistently prevailed in this rivalry, winning 22 games to Kolkata’s seven victories. Each has played the other twice in the playoffs.

In the past, the IPL has seen success for the Knight Riders franchise. Due to their success, they have several rivalries with other teams.




Stumpsandbails is a cricketing website that gives the best cricket match predictions, live cricket score, fantasy cricket tips & more. Know more!