Indian Domestic League: Vijay Hazare Trophy

2 min readNov 28, 2022


The perfect platform where youngsters showcase their talents and get called up for national teams and other domestic leagues around the world

The Board of Control for Cricket in India hosts the annual domestic limited-overs cricket competition known as the Vijay Hazare Trophy, commonly known as the Ranji One-Day Trophy.

Image Source: Twitter

It is officially known as the Mastercard Vijay Hazare Trophy due to sponsorship considerations (BCCI). The competition, which bears the name Vijay Hazare in honor of the illustrious Indian cricketer of the twentieth century, was established in the 2002–03 season.

The Vijay Hazare Trophy quarterfinal matches between Punjab and Karnataka, Maharashtra and Uttar Pradesh, Assam and Jammu & Kashmir, and Tamil Nadu and Saurashtra will be playing for the Semi-final spot in the most prestigious domestic league in India.

Defending Champions of Vijay Hazare Trophy

After defeating Uttar Pradesh in the 2021 season, Himachal Pradesh was added to the list of Vijay Hazare Trophy winners as the most recent winner. However, they did not become champions this season as they didn’t make it to the qualifiers for Vijay Hazare Trophy. The Indian domestic cricket circuit’s one-day championship is known as the Vijay Hazare Trophy after the legendary Indian test cricketer.

Unknown Interesting Facts

There are many interesting facts about the Vijay Hazare Trophy but if we look at some of the importance we can point few facts which some of you might not be aware of.

Some of the Interesting facts are:

Karnataka and Mumbai are the next-most successful teams, with Tamil Nadu having won the trophy five times, the most of any group.
The only two teams in the tournament’s history to win the trophy twice straight were Tamil Nadu and Karnataka.
Since the final between the two teams ended in a tie, Tamil Nadu and Uttar Pradesh were declared winners of the cup for the 2004–05 season.

Popular Stars coming from these Indian Domestic Leagues

We can undoubtedly attribute the majority of the credit for the development of some of the most gifted young cricketers over the past few years to the caliber and level of the game played at those levels on the Indian domestic circuit.

Players like Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, and Hanuma Vihara have all competed in some of the best domestic competitions, such as the Ranji Trophy and the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Ruturaj Gaikwad Masterclass Knock Today (28th November 2022)

Ruturaj Gaikwad created history when he scored 43 runs in one over and seven sixes, making him the only hitter to ever do so in cricket. Throughout the innings, Ruturaj Gaikwad persisted in using his bat, amassing 220 runs off 159 balls while hitting 16 sixes and 10 fours.




Stumpsandbails is a cricketing website that gives the best cricket match predictions, live cricket score, fantasy cricket tips & more. Know more!